Raspberry Pi – hyperbole or just plain bollox?

26 Oct

Have you seen one of these yetRaspberry Pi?  They are little circuit boards that cost just $35. But the best bit is that for $35 you get  a computer! Sadly though, only if you are a geek are you going to love it. Geeks are literally crawling out of the woodwork all over the UK and getting together in larger geek-groups called “Raspberry Jams” where they hold each others Pi and speak in Pi tongues – it’s creepy I tell ya! The whole thing is scary and worst of all it’s’ total bollox. You spend $35 on it, and then need to buy all the peripherals that for it to work with (monitor, mouse, keyboard etc). I stand to be corrected here but from what I’ve read and heard, apart from potential as a media centre controller – it doesn’t actually do anything. It’s a scam I tell you. I can just hear the geeks screaming at me – “You fool – you know nothing. Look, you can program one of these.”  So what. If you want to learn how to program – use something else that’s actually free, erm, like a free internet tutorial or better still use an old laptop. Anyway, have you got one yet? When you do please let me know when you find a use for it? Someone somewhere is making good cash here. I wish it was me darn it!

Of course I may be missing the point completely. Two things make me stop and hesitate. First of all. China. They are making an alternative.  They know something!  Secondly – Maybe these little Pi s aren’t actually “meant” to do anything. The device can be anything you want it to be!  I feel a Sony Walkman moment coming on…….bye…..

Leave a comment